Cardiff’s music scene is as strong as it’s ever been, and somewhere near the center is brooding chanteuse, Cate Le Bon. Having already contributed to Gruff Rhys and Boom Bip’s Neon Neon project, Le Bon continues to work with the Super Furries front man, albeit with Rhys wearing the A&R hat.

So impressed with Cate’s music, Gruff set up his own label, Irony Bored, to release her album, which is due out on October 5. A new force in song-craft, Le Bon is the kind of songwriter who only writes in the dark, while the album is a heady and highly personal Gallic stew of equal parts Nico, Bobbie Gentry, Stephen Malkmus, and the chronicler's own emotional observations on the impossibility of existence.

Me Oh My is complimented with a Thriller-style short film by the visionary artist Casey Raymond, created for the song Hollow Trees House Hounds. You can download the latter for free over at NME today. And grab more goodies after the track list.

1. Me Oh My
2. Sad Sad Feet
3. Shoeing The Bones
4. Hollow Trees House Hounds
5. It's Not The End
6. Terror Of The Man
7. Eyes So Bright
8. Digging Song
9. Burn Until The End
10. Out To Sea

mp3: Cate Le Bon - Me Oh My
mp3: Neon Neon (featuring Cate Le Bon) - I Lust U